Town of Archaic Towers

Medieval yet antiquated, romantic but peaceful, one of my favorite places in the world, located in the heart of Tuscany, Siena, on top of a hill filled with lovely sunflowers, is a town of archaic towers called San Gimignano.

I have viewed the most enchanting site. Upon entering the village I came a across tall wooden gate that lead into a valley so old fashioned and full of mystery. At some point I felt like Bell, you know, as in Princess Bell from Beauty and the Beast as she entered and made her way to the castle, don’t ask me to elaborate it’s a long story. Walking through, left me breathless and filled with astonishment, it was such a quaint town! Such beauty this place. I mean honestly, how long were those towers there? They were such preserved architectures, I guess them to be over a thousand years old!  On the inside of these towers I found souvenir shops. Here I bought intricate and hand painted Italian plates (so much cheaper to buy here than in nearby Florence), finesse wine (for my mother), and the best selling Medicea stationeries ( I seriously cannot wait to send them), I was even able to bargain 2 magnets for the price of only 3 euro!

San Gimignano is the perfect vacation spot, amo questo luogo, e sorprendente!

For one,  this place has the most delicious pizza I have ever tasted in (not exaggerating) MY WHOLE LIFE in a restaurant called II Trovatore. It was so rich in flavor, I can still taste the salami and mozzarella cheese.  Not to mention San Gimignano’s Oscar award winning ice cream for the best gelateria in the world running 5 years in a row (2005-2009) is located in the heart of the town, the very famous Gelateria di Piazza. This ice cream parlor is referred in the most important world guides and has been visited by many well-known personalities. On a more personal point of view, I must admit, that this ice- cream was the creamiest I have tried.

Secondly, it is very reasonable for those who travel in tight budgets because San Gimignano is so rich in culture and filled with beautiful scenery that you will be able to enjoy your visit and be amazed just by strolling around the town. This old city has been known for its historical churches bounded with art like the Collegiata that was consecrated by Pope Eugine III in 1148 and chiesa di Sant’ Agostino, an imposing 13th century building which is owned by the order of St. Augustine.  The town is also famous for its awe-inspiring hillside vineyards that produce grapes of the most prestigious Italian white wines called Vernaccia di San Gimignano. In the middle of the town I came across a well called Piazza della Cisterna. A tourist spot in the middle of magical-like towers where people drop coins and make wishes.  It was a thrilling experience, I just hope my wish of coming back to this city will come true!

I am in no doubt that San Gemignano is certainly the town filled with enchanting towers. To have visited the most charming and fairytale-like town was definitely the peak of my vacation. I just wish that one day I could return back together with my two younger siblings Isabella (15) and Sofia (13) and cousin Alessa. Now that would make my trip even more amazing, until that day comes, arrivederci! 

 
 

2 thoughts on “Town of Archaic Towers

  1. I wanted to compose you one very little word to be able to thank you once again regarding the wonderful suggestions you’ve shared above. It has been extremely generous of you to make unreservedly what a lot of people could possibly have offered for an e-book to generate some profit for their own end, particularly seeing that you could have done it in the event you wanted. These good ideas as well acted to become great way to fully grasp that someone else have a similar passion the same as my personal own to understand many more in terms of this problem. I’m certain there are several more pleasurable situations up front for folks who read through your blog post.

Leave a Reply

